OSE’s first Open Studios in Margate

Saturday 6 May 2pm until 8pm sees Open School East opening up our doors to our neighbours, the creative community, East Kent and beyond to share what our associate artists have been working on since starting in February.

We will be presenting a multi-form artwork which takes Hans Christian Anderson’s 1844 fairytale The Nightingale as a tongue-in-cheek point of departure.

We have used a limited palette of materials including plaster, clay and latex, and have united as one group to create a “total artwork” under the direction of Matthew Darbyshire and visiting artists* working in the fields of painting, sculpture, sound, writing, costume, choreography, public art and film.

The Open Studios will also offer a programme of activities including a procession, a class on human lie detection, a plaster casting workshop, a vegan and non-vegan BBQ, Nightingale-inspired karaoke, live performances and the broadcast of the sound piece D O N G every hour on the hour.


2.00pm: Start of The Nightingale Procession at Open School East, The Pettman Building, 50 Athelstan Road, Margate CT9 2BH. The procession will parade around the streets of Cliftonville and loop back to Open School East. Join us.

3.15pm:  Leaking Joy, a class on lie spotting and truth-seeking led by Emma Gibson.

4.15pm: Louis Joe Sainsbury, George Harding and Emily Whitebread will showcase Storytelling & Slides: an abstract retelling of The Nightingale through archive material, slide projections, live making and spoken word.

5.15pm: Plaster casting workshop. Bring an object or a body part (wear messy clothes).

6.15pm: Jessica Jordan-Wrench and Roxanne Gatt host The Nightingale Karaoke.

D O N G will be heard on the hour from 3pm till 8 pm.

The BBQ will be lit after the 3pm D O N G.

Open School East’s 2017 associate artists are Chloe Ashley, Roxanne Gatt, Emma Gibson, George Harding, Jessica Jordan-Wrench, Kris Lock, Jo Murray, Louis Joe Sainsbury, Leandro Stafford, Josephine Sweeney, Sara Trillo, Emily Whitebread and Jacob P Woods.

* Thank you to Melissa Appleton, Yemi Awosile, Lucy Beech, Pablo Bronstein, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Nicolas Deshayes, Milo van der Maaden, Sophie Mallett, Tom Morton, Eddie Peake and Jessica Warboys who led the workshops.