Board and Founders

Board members

Yemi Awosile, Designer

Robert Diament, Director, Carl Freedman Gallery, Margate

Sarah Griffin, Independent curator of applied arts (Chair)

Sanjivan Kohli, Head of Development, Turner Contemporary, Margate

Sarah McCrory, Director, Goldsmiths CCA and OSE co-founder

Zoe McLeod, Partner, Counterculture Partnership LLP

Richard Morsley, Chief Executive at Chatham Historic Dockyard Trust (Treasurer)

Justin O’Shaughnessy, Independent producer

Owen Watson, Director, 6a architects


Open School East was founded in February 2013 by Anna Colin, Sarah McCrory, Sam Thorne and Laurence Taylor.

While Anna Colin and Laurence Taylor formed the core founding team, Sarah McCrory and Sam Thorne took on an advisory role before joining the Board, when the charity was created in October 2013.

Laurence Taylor and Anna Colin were Co-Directors of OSE from 2013 to 2018. Anna Colin was then Director in 2019 and 2020.

Previous Board members

Matthew Darbyshire, artist

Ryan Gander, artist

Hadrian Garrard, Director, Create London

Colleen Harris, BBC reporter, presenter and producer

Marguerite Humeau, Artist

Colin Johnson, Associate Dean of Sciences, University of Kent

Stephanie Mclaren-Neckles, co-founder, Let’s Be Brief and twenty%extra

Emily Pethick, Director, Rijksakademie

Fanny Singer, writer and independent curator

Sam Thorne, Director, Nottingham Contemporary and OSE co-founder